Boston Teen Author Fest: My first book event.

Hello, my fellow beautiful bookworms. This past weekend I attended my first book event, I know I’ve been blogging for how long and this was my first event. And I have to say it was the best choice for me to be surrounded by so many like-minded readers. Not only did I get to meet a ton of other readers, but I also got to meet and briefly speak to some of the authors.

The event took place at the Cambridge Public Library, let me tell you if you have never been there you so should go and visit. This library is amazing. Huge and there is something there for everyone. I wish I took a photo of the outside of the library just to show you.  But I did take a few videos and photos of some of the panels that I did attend.

The started with the author introductions. Where they where all introduced and had each row were asked a quick-fire question about either there protagonist or antagonist.

20180922_102635

I do have video clips that I will post to my youtube channel.

After the introductions, the panels began. The first one that I attended was the To Be Continued. And that was on varying approaches to writing series. The authors who took part in this panel where;  Julie C. Dao the author of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, Sasha Alsberg co-author of Zenith, Gabe(Ava Jae) author of Beyond the Red, and Kristen White author of And I Darken. I choose to go to this panel because I am a huge fan of series. And I always wanted to know what goes on in the mind of an author when they are writing a series. The entire session was an eye opener, I learned so much from their points of view with the hows and why their stories took the turns that it did. They spoke in the way they work and how they get goals meet while writing. Not to mention that it took me almost the entire session that I was sitting to the author Sara Holland, and did not fangirl externally like I was doing on the inside.

img_20180922_112052_170

The second panel that I attended was Honestly, Though. This was with authors who don’t sugar-coat the teen experience, The authors who took part in this panel where Dhonelle Clayton author of the Belles, Adib Khorram author Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Mark Oshiro author of Anger Is a Gift, and Rachel Lynn Solomon author of You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone. This panel spoke on writing the story they wanted to write with people of different race, sexuality, religion. I loved that they wrote stories where the cast of charactors where not the cookie cutter classic, where the story wasn’t centered around drama around what they are but more so who they are and become. I loved learning that even if they write the tuff stuff they still love reading and writing the fluffy stuff, and love it even more when they can be combined.

20180922_120317

And for the finale panel I attended was the Infinity and Beyond, which was about the different tales and possiblities when  it comes to stories in space. The authors who took part in this sesion where Sasah Alsberg author of Zenith, Alexa Donne author of Brightly Burning , Erin Bowman author of Contagion, and Gabe(Ava Jae) author of Beyond the Red. Now they spoke about their stories and how they kept the fancy of being in space but all keeping facts straight. This session for me was just for fun to sit on and to hear about why they choose space as their setting over any other. Or how they all have a way of keeping the facts and stories straight. My favorite line from the panel was about math and how they are not fans of the subject, but how it was needed in some aspects of their story.

img_20180922_143700

As for the last panel of the day, I did not go to one, instead I joined the line for the signing. This was my first author signing, I brought four books with me and even bought one. I was able to get four books signed and was also able to speak with them shortly. I was extermly excited to speak with Alexa Donne about writing. All in all, Saturday was a great day and I trully enjoyed my first book event and I am looking foreward toattendeing more in the future.

Leave a comment